Steam Powered Giraffe

On February 27, 2012, I was scrolling through Twitter and came across the following tweet:

@hankgreen Video: I would like a semi-accurate count of whether or not I am crazy for liking these people.
http://tmblr.co/Zo3XzvHAOlDH

My curiosity was piqued, and I clicked the link. It lead to Hank’s Tumblr post with an embedded video. A person in weird makeup made odd movements and opened a skeletal umbrella. I was confused, but I kept watching. Now there were three strangely costumed and made-up guys on the beach. Everything was in black and white except for the red details on their outfits. Then with the strum of a guitar, everything was suddenly full color and a beautiful voice began to sing.

“You didn’t have to look my way
Your eyes still haunt me to this day
But you did. Yes you did”

From then on, I was hooked. From their Patronism site:

Steam Powered Giraffe is a San Diego based band of three movement artists portraying malfunctioning antique musical robots. With backgrounds in improv, street busking, musical theatre, mime, and illustration, the performers have created a unique act that has entertained thousands.

I watched all the videos on their YouTube channel and subscribed to every social networking site they had. I bought a bunch of merchandise. When I was finally able to see them live on March 31 at Balboa Park, they more than met my high expectations. I would encourage everyone to check out these talented performers.

This video I took at Balboa Park gives a sample of the humor you see in their live shows.

I took another video from that show that you can watch here, but if you haven’t experienced Steam Powered Giraffe before, I highly recommend that you start with the first video of theirs that I ever saw, Honeybee.

SteamPoweredGiraffe.com

3 comments on “Steam Powered Giraffe

  1. kantal113 says:

    Hi there! I saw your post on the SPG facebook page, and clicked on your link and it brought me here and so I read your post. 🙂
    I am absolutely in love with the robots. For serious. I discovered their music just a month or so ago and I cannot stop listening to them. They have replaced everything else in my music library.
    I live in the Detroit area in Michigan, and am lucky enough to live close enough to Dearborn, where the World Steam Expo is being held, and where SPG will be performing next month. I am SO EXCITED!!! I’m not at all into the whole steampunk thing though. I just love me some steam-powered automaton robots who sing and tell jokes. Good times. Great post. 🙂

    • Beth says:

      I’m so glad you’re going to be able to see them! I know a lot of fans live in areas that they’re not able to visit yet, so that’s awesome! I was so excited when I found out that they live in the same city as me!

Leave a Reply

